lifebeginsat39

My Observations on Daily Life

My Toddler’s Spirit and Sparkle

leave a comment »

At 16 months of age my daughter is a bundle of energy and personality. And when I take the time to really tune in and observe her, I wonder at what age did I learn to temper my approach and dial down my spunk.

My daughter is all about being in the moment. Whether it bopping to the beat at music class, … or clapping and giggling at the zoo (those polar bears are exciting)… or kicking and squealing on the swings… or chilling at home and deciding a “downward facing dog” pose might be fun… or saying “bye bye” to the entire CTA bus… Alexa just goes with her immediate reaction or wish.

If you and I did some of this people might shake their heads, but when it’s coming from a 16 month old, you see a different reaction… you see faces brighten and smiles in return (at least from most).  It’s not that people are laughing at her, I truly believe they see her joy.  And what’s refreshing about a child this age is that she’s too young to worry about how people perceive her. Her world is much more simple than that… She is simply tuned into herself and her caregivers right now. It will be a bit longer (I hope) until she learns how critical the world can be, or understands the expectations and rules that some with age.

So as I watch her I think how do I preserve that innocence and spirit? I also wonder how do I get some of my “toddler spirit” back (not the tantrums, please). How do I “relearn” to see the world around me with fresh eyes? To find joy in the simple things?

Until then I need to remind myself to encourage my daughter to keep this spirited nature.  I’ll be posting this quote as reminder for me personally and as my daughter’s advocate and cheerleader:

Sparkle Quote

Until next time…

Written by lifebeginsat39

August 5, 2013 at 2:26 am

Leave a comment